Support Buddy – Solihull

Are you someone who likes cars?
Do you like exercise and keeping fit?
Are you someone who thrives on getting the best out of people?

This Support Buddy job is a fantastic and unusual opportunity!

The Client

You will be working with Luke. Luke is in his early 20’s, lives in Solihull, and has cerebral palsy, epilepsy & associated learning difficulties. He works out in the gym, swims, cycles, go karts, goes to college, plays X-box, listens to music, draws and LOVES anything to do with cars (building, renovating, talking about cars, watching programmes about cars, looking at luxury/fast cars) – the list goes on!

It is fair to say that Luke has a busy lifestyle, so we are looking for someone to support Luke to continue to do all the things he loves while also ensuring that he is safe, supported and thriving.

The Role

  • Supporting Luke to attend college and encourage him to interact with other students and make friends
  • Taking Luke to his activities (disabled cycling club in the summer and go-karting every 2 or 3 weeks) and planning lots of different activities for Luke to have fun and develop his skills.
    Luke goes to track driving days once a month and the successful candidate will need to be confident in their own driving ability to drive round the track if required.
  • Encouraging and supporting Luke to exercise, swim and use exercise machines such as the treadmill & rowing machine
  • Participating in some of the activities that Luke enjoys – a passion for cars would definitely be an advantage!
  • Supervising Luke when out and about either walking or using his wheelchair
  • Join the family at their holiday home in Marbella for a few weeks (across the 10 weeks that the family usually go out for)
  • Help Luke to keep his room and ‘man-cave’ tidy & clean
  • Assisting with personal care including toileting, showering, dressing etc
  • Assisting with administering daily medications, using rescue medications and dealing with medical emergencies (it doesn’t matter if you don’t have experience of this – full training is given!)
  • Assisting with making simple meals at home; Luke needs help with cutting up food and making sure he doesn’t choke or eat anything he shouldn’t.

What experience do you need?
Previous experience of working within a care environment on a one-to-one basis and/or working within an educational facility would be beneficial however experience is not essential if you have the qualities we are looking for. Full training will be given.

What is essential is that you are enthusiastic, kind, have good initiative and common sense, are happy to socialise with Luke’s family and friends at home and when out and about and can remain calm in a crisis! You also need to have a passion to help Luke enjoy life and become as independent as possible.

It is important too that you understand and appreciate the need for professional boundaries to be maintained with an understanding of the respect and privacy required when working within a family’s private home.

Rates of Pay

Monday – Friday: £17.00 per hour
Saturday & Sunday:£18.00 per hour

This role offers the opportunity to accompany the family on holiday (abroad and within the UK) and may also include some overnight stays at the family home and some weekend and evening work where necessary. It is therefore helpful if candidates are able to offer flexibility around their hours and pattern of work.

Hours of Work

We are looking for a new Support Buddy to work 20 hours per week average, as follows:
Monday: 9.00am – 5.00pm
Two evenings per week by arrangement: 6.00pm – 10.00pm (4 hours per shift)
Alternate Saturdays: 9.00am – 5.00pm

Person Specification

You need to have a full, clean driving licence (you will be able to use Luke’s car) and be a non-smoker.

If this position appeals to you and you feel you are the right person for the role, please send your CV in the first instance.

Reference: KN/LP0003